According to the legend, once above this source, then located at the edge of the pine forest, the face of Nicholas the Wonderworker in a pillar of fire appeared to a passerby. The source got his name. In addition, since it is this saint that the believers ask for health, the spring has become famous as a place where they heal the sick and alleviate their suffering. On the mountain above the spring in 1889, a church was built in honor of the icon of the Kazan Mother of God. Soon, the largest female Convent of Our Lady of Kazan and the Kazan Monastery arose next to him: his church was designed for 1.5 thousand worshipers. Above the key then they built a chapel with a bathhouse. During the Civil War, mass executions of citizens took place near the source. In 1920, the monastery was closed, eight years later, the buildings above the source were destroyed, a dump was made in its place. At first, training courses and a technical school were based in the buildings of the monastery, then two orphanages, and from 1925 a prison, in which several hundred priests and parishioners were shot in 1937. Until our time from the temple survived only the central chapel. In the 1980s, the spring was cleared by enthusiasts; in 1995, water samples verified its suitability as drinking water. Three years later, Nikolsky source received the status of a monument of history and nature of regional significance. The territory was fenced and decorated with flowerbeds, set a gazebo. A closed locker room was built at the source, where you can pour water from a spring. A small church was built nearby, where a large worship cross was built at the place where prisoners were executed.