The Orthodox Znamensky Monastery in Barnaul was established on the site of the Znamensky parish of the city. As one of the oldest churches in the city, the Znamensky Cathedral was rebuilt three times. The modern building was built and consecrated in 1859.
In 1937 the church was closed, later the heads and the bell tower were dismantled, the dome was removed. In the building of the cathedral, the archive of the NKVD was first located, then the Barnaul archive bureau, later it was renamed the State Archive of the Altai Territory.
In 1992, the Znamensky Cathedral was returned to the Russian Orthodox Church and two years later transformed into a convent.
A fragment of the relics of the martyr Elizabeth was brought from Jerusalem to the monastery. The image of the Mother of God of Pochaev appeared (a gift from S. N. Rovin). The monastery received as a gift an icon of the Mother of God "Unfading Color" (1902, Athos). In the right side-altar of the Znamensky Church there is a restored icon of the Sign.
At the monastery there is a small museum about the Virgin-Kazan (Korobeinikovsky) monastery, there is a Sunday school.