The Museum of Greek Folk Art is the State Museum of Greece, managed by the Ministry of Culture of Greece. The museum was founded in 1918 in the Zisdaraki mosque and was called the “Museum of Greek Handicraft”. In 1923 the museum was renamed the "National Museum of Decorative Arts". The museum got its current name only in 1959.
In 1973, the main collection and the main funds were transferred to a new museum building, located in the oldest area of Athens Plaka, Kidatineon Street. In the mosque of Tsisdaraki remained a branch of the museum, here is a collection of pottery folk art Kiriazopoulos. You can also visit the museum’s branches on Kirrestu Street (the only preserved public baths) and Tespidos Street, both of which are also located in the Plaka district. Recently another branch of the museum was opened on Panos Street, a collection of tools of various professions is exhibited there.
The collection presented in the museum covers all areas of folk art. These are embroidery and knitting, national costumes collected from all over Greece, and a collection of shadow theater dolls, works on metal and wood, silver and clay items, household and church utensils, weapons and other interesting items. The earliest exhibits of the museum belong to the year 1650. The museum also exhibits the work of the famous Greek primitive artist Theophilus Haqimihail.