The cave church of the Nativity of Christ was built on the site of an ancient cave church, which, according to the brethren, has existed since the time of the Apostles. During its excavations, 75 ancient silver coins of unknown origin and time were found. Father Nikander sent the 10th head of the monastery to the Taurida diocese, from where half of the coins went to the Tauride Archival Commission, and the other to one of the museums of St. Petersburg. According to some researchers, the cave church of St. George Monastery should be attributed to the II century of our era. During the restoration of this temple, in the cave floor, a screw passage carved into the rock was found, covered with stones. Clearing the course, according to the monks, was made to a depth of 8 sazhen (17 meters), after which it was stopped, and the course in the floor was sealed, not reaching the end. On the days of the celebrations of the 1000th anniversary of the monastery (September 1891), a chapel was erected in this church, and only in 1893 the throne of the cave church was consecrated in the name of the Nativity of Christ.