The Pokrovsky Alexander Nevsky Diocesan Women's Monastery was established in 1991 on the territory of the temple, which is much older than the monastery. In 1878, at a public gathering, the philistine society of Kolyvan decided that because of the growth of the population, it was necessary to build another church at their own expense. A stone altar of about 700 people was supposed to be erected in honor of the feast of the Protection of the Most Holy Theotokos. The church was founded on May 2, 1882, and five years later, on December 4, 1887, the church was consecrated. Currently, the Pokrovsky Alexander Nevsky Convent employs 40 sisters. The temple contains many honored icons and shrines.