It is believed that the first wooden church on this site was built in the 1620s at the expense of Prince Pozharsky. Soon, a stone cathedral, consecrated in 1636, was erected in its place. The temple was repeatedly subjected to various restructuring, he was seriously injured during the Napoleonic invasion.
In 1925–1930, it was restored, but in 1936 the cathedral was demolished.
The modern building was built in 1990-1993. It is an active Orthodox church.