St. Basil's Cathedral is not only the main temple of the Red Square, but also a symbol of all Russia. It was built in 1555–1561 by order of Ivan the Terrible in honor of the capture of the Kazan Khanate. The storming of Kazan began on October 1, 1552, on the Feast of the Protection of the Mother of God, therefore the “official” name of the temple is the Church of the Protection of the Mother of God. The cathedral is a symmetrical ensemble of eight churches surrounding the central church, topped with a tent. Each of the eight churches is named after the saint, on whose day this or that significant event of the Kazan campaigns of Ivan the Terrible took place. Central - dedicated to the feast of the Protection of the Mother of God, who gave the name to the whole temple. The churches are crowned with elegant domes onions. There are nine iconostases in the cathedral, in which there are about 400 icons of the XVI – XIX centuries. The walls of the cathedral are decorated with frescoes. Also there you can admire portrait and landscape painting, church utensils. Among the most valuable exhibits - the chalice of the XVII century, which belonged to Tsar Alexei Mikhailovich. The architects who built the cathedral, the chronicle indicates some Barma and Postnik Yakovlev. However, there is a theory that in fact there was one master, Ivan Yakovlevich Barma, nicknamed Postnik for adherence to a strict post. There is a famous legend that, having seen a wonderful temple, Ivan the Terrible ordered to blind the masters so that they would not repeat their masterpiece anywhere else. But this is rather a myth, as Postnik’s name is later found in the annals in connection with the creation of other remarkable architectural monuments.