The present building of the palace (the fifth) was built in 1754-1762 by the Italian architect B. F. Rastrelli in the style of a magnificent Elizabethan baroque with elements of French Rococo in the interiors. It is an object of cultural heritage of federal significance and a UNESCO World Heritage Site as part of the historical center of St. Petersburg. From the moment of completion of construction in 1762 to 1904, it was used as the official winter residence of the Russian emperors. In 1904, Nicholas II transferred the permanent residence to the Alexander Palace in Tsarskoye Selo. From October 1915 to November 1917, the Tsarevich Alexei Nikolayevich Hospital worked in the palace. From July to November 1917, the Provisional Government was located in the palace. In January 1920, the State Museum of the Revolution opened in the palace, which divided the building with the State Hermitage until 1941. The Winter Palace and Palace Square form the most beautiful architectural ensemble of the modern city and are one of the main objects of Russian and international tourism.